President Obama signed a declaration on Monday saying a major disaster has happened in North Carolina.

By signing this declaration it allows federal funding for people in the counties of Beaufort, Bladen, Columbus, Cumberland, Edgecombe, Hoke, Lenoir, Nash, Pitt, and Robeson.

The funding can help get grants for temporary housing and home repairs, loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help people affected by Hurricane Matthew.

Some of the funding can also go to state, tribal, and eligible local governments as well as some nonprofit organizations. This would be on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work to help the counties of Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Edgecombe, Greene, Hoke, Hyde, Johnston, Lenoir, Nash, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Pitt, Robeson, Tyrrell, Washington, and Wayne.

If you need assistance FEMA says you can start applying Tuesday by registering online or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA(3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. You can call from 7:00 am to 9:00 pm Monday-Sunday.

Stay on top of News, Weather, Sports by downloading WFMY News 2 apps or signing up for our text alerts.

Get the WFMY News 2 Weather and News App

WFMY News 2 Weather iPhone App

WFMY News 2 Weather Android App

WFMY News 2 Android App

WFMY News 2 iPhone App

WFMY News 2 Text Alerts