LIVE VIDEO: Good Morning Show    Watch

N.C. A&T Aggies Win MEAC Championship, First Time Since 1995

10:07 PM, Mar 16, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

Norfolk, VA (Sports Network) - North Carolina A&T won its 16th MEAC Championship and its first since 1995 by defeating Morgan State, 57-54, on Saturday.

The Aggies, who have won more MEAC titles than any other program in history, earned the seventh seed in the tourney and defeated Florida A&M, second seed North Carolina Central and Delaware State to make it to the title game.

Adrian Powell and Lamont Middleton scored 14 and 13 points, respectively, while Austin Witter registered 11 points and 10 rebounds in the victory.

Dewayne Jackson had a game-high 20 points and seven rebounds for Morgan State, which earned the fifth seed in the tourney and defeated South Carolina State, Savannah State and Bethune-Cookman to reach the final. Anthony Hubbard recorded 10 points and eight rebounds.


The Sports Network

Most Watched Videos