President Signs Disaster Declaration for NC

10:58 PM, Sep 25, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

NORTH CAROLINA - The summer was officially a disaster for parts of North Carolina.  President Obama signed a disaster declaration to help with the cleanup.

That means federal funding is available to help the counties in need.

Severe storms, flooding, landslides and mudslides hit several state counties throughout the season.  Thirteen counties in North Carolina sustained immense damage from heavy rainfall during the time period between July 3 and July 13.

The federal aid will be on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and to replace facilities. Federal funding also is available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation meaures.  Those would apply to all counties and tribes within the state--including the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians.

The 13 counties qualifying for federal aid are Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell, Jackson, Macon, Madison, Mitchell, Polk, Watuga and Yancey.

FEMA said additional declarations can be made at a later date if requested by the state.  First, further damage assessments must determine whether extra federal aid is warranted.

Some of the hardest-hit areas received as much as 600 percent of their normal rainfall during those 11 days in July.

WFMY News 2

Most Watched Videos