Five Duke Energy Plants Cited For Lack Of Permits

RALEIGH, N.C. -- North Carolina state regulators issued notices of violation for five more Duke Energy power plants including one in Rockingham County. The violations are for failure to obtain a federally mandated National Pollution Discharge Elimination System or NPDES stormwater permit. The move follows the state's investigation into Duke Energy's coal ash ponds following a massive spill into the Dan River.

The state issued the violations on Friday. However, the state already issued two other violations at the Dan River Power plant in Eden, N.C. where a 48-inch stormwater pipe failed causing the massive coal ash spill.

The violation means Duke Energy will have 30 days to respond to the notices for the stormwater violations for all six facilities cited. The power company also has 15 days to respond to the notice that's related to the wastewater violations at the Dan River facility.

Regulators with the N.C. Department of Environment and Natural Resources or DENR, revealed Duke Energy failed to apply or obtain stormwater permits for six power plants including the Dan River Steam Station. Regulators say four facilities have stormwater applications under review.

The following five facilities recently received notices of violations:

  • Belews Creek Steam Station, Rockingham County
  • Cliffside Steam Station, Rutherford County
  • Lee Steam Electric Plant, Wayne County
  • Roxboro Steam Electric Power Plant, Person County
  • Sutton Steam Electric Power Plant, New Hanover County

Discharge From Pipe At Duke Energy Plant In Rutherford County

Researcher: $70M 'Starting Point' For Coal Ash Spill Impact On NC Econ...

Violations Issued Against Duke Energy For Coal Ash Spill

State Giving Deadline to Duke Energy Over Coal Ash


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment