Not wearing a seat belt can cost you your life and a hefty fine. That’s why police are making sure you buckle up and they are keeping a close watch.
►Make it easy to keep up to date with more stories like this. Download the WFMY News 2 App now
Here's a look at 15 things you should know about "Click It or Ticket."
1. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration requires states to complete a seat belt usage survey each year which overlaps with "Click It or Ticket."
2. Surveyors will conduct seat belt usage survey in 15 counties in the state including: Guilford, Forsyth, and Wilkes. They are picked based on fatality and road data.
3. In 1993, North Carolina became the first state to implement "Click It or Ticket".
4. In 2013, 581 lives were saved due to seat belt and child restrained use in North Carolina.
5. More than 10% of front seat drivers and passengers don't wear their belt.
6. 87.8% of men buckle up versus 93% of women.
7. Not wearing a seat belt can cost up to $179 in fines. It is $263 for 15 and under (penalty goes to driver of the vehicle).
8. In 2014, 41% of motor vehicle occupants who died in crashes were unrestrained.
9. Too many people wrongly believe they are safe in the back seat unrestrained. In 2014, 47% of rear seat occupants killed were unrestrained.
10. The "Click It or Ticket" Campaign is in its 24th Year
11. The "Click It or Ticket" Campaign has reduced deaths across the state by increasing driver seat belt awareness and usage rates.
12. Nearly every law enforcement agency in the state takes part in the initiative
13. Between 2010 – 2014, an average of 545 lives were saved per year due to the use of seat belts in passenger vehicles.
14. North Carolina law requires all passengers in a vehicle to be properly restrained.
15. In 2015, 415 people were killed and an additional 436 others were seriously injured who were not using seat belts in motor vehicle crashes in North Carolina
© 2017 WFMY-TV