LIVE VIDEO: Good Morning Show    Watch

Former Elon TE Richard McGeorge Inducted Into College Football Hall Of Fame

8:16 PM, Jul 21, 2012   |    comments
Richard McGeorge
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

DALLAS, Texas -- The National Football Foundation (NFF) inducted the members of the College Football Hall of Fame 2012 Divisional Class.

Among the newest inductees is former Elon great Richard McGeorge who becomes the maroon and gold's first player to enter the College Football Hall of Fame.

The Divisional College Football Hall of Fame considers players and coaches from the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision (formerly I-AA), Divisions II, III, and the NAIA (National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics) for induction.

The rest of the 2012 Divisional College Football Hall of Fame Class include former players Chris Bisaillon (Illinois Wesleyan), Jim Holder (Oklahoma Panhandle State) and Rex Mirich (Northern Arizona) and coaches Gene Carpenter (Adams State, Millersville), William "Lone Star" Dietz (Washington State, Purdue, Louisiana Tech, Wyoming, Haskell Indian Institute, Albright) and Ron Harms (Concordia, Adams State, Texas A&M - Kingsville).

The personification of the term "student-athlete", McGeorge was named a two-time first-team All-American and an Academic All-American during his collegiate career.

McGeorge, a tight end, rewrote Elon's receiving records book, ending his career as the school's career record-holder with 224 receptions for 3,486 yards and 31 touchdowns. The conference MVP also set single-season marks with 65 grabs for 1,081 yards, and single-game records with 15 catches, 285 receiving yards and four touchdowns.

Chosen with the 16th overall pick of the 1970 NFL Draft, McGeorge enjoyed a nine-year career with the Green Bay Packers, earning the team's Offensive Player of the Year honors in 1973. He also served as the state chairperson for the muscular dystrophy society of Wisconsin from 1975-78. McGeorge is also a veteran of the U.S. Army National Guard.

McGeorge was inducted into the Elon Sports Hall of Fame in 1979 and the NAIA Hall of Fame in 1980.

"This year's class of Divisional College Football Hall of Fame inductees represents the best of our sport from the divisional ranks," said NFF Chairman Archie Manning, a 1989 Hall of Fame inductee from Ole Miss. "They have all achieved the highest levels of success, and they should be applauded for their induction into college football's ultimate shrine. We look forward to celebrating their accomplishments
this summer."

National Football Foundation

Most Watched Videos