LIVE VIDEO: Good Morning Show    Watch

WSSU's Connell Maynor Named AFCA Regional Coach of the Year

11:41 AM, Dec 3, 2012   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +
Connell Maynor

WACO, TEX. - Winston-Salem State University head football coach, Connell Maynor, along with Notre Dame's Brian Kelly and first-time winner Dino Babers of Eastern Illinois highlight today's announcement of the American Football Coaches Association's 2012 Regional Coach of the Year winners.

The AFCA recognizes five regional Coach of the Year winners in each of the Association's five divisions: Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III and NAIA. The winners are selected by Active members of the Association who vote for coaches in their respective regions and divisions.

The 2012 Regional Coach of the Year winners will be recognized at the AFCA?Coach of the Year Dinner at the 2013 AFCA Convention in Nashville, Tennessee. The dinner is scheduled for Tuesday, January 8.

In just his third year as head coach of Notre Dame, Kelly has guided the Fighting Irish to a 12-0 record, a No. 1 ranking in the BCS standings and a spot in the BCS National Championship game. Kelly is looking to lead Notre Dame to its first National Championship since 1988 and its first of the BCS era. 

Maynor is 34-3 in three seasons at Winston-Salem State, and has led the Rams to back to back CIAA (Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association) Championships, and back to back Super Region One titles.

2012 AFCA Regional Coach of the Year Winners

Football Bowl Subdivision
Region 1: Charlie Strong, University of Louisville
Region 2: Kevin Sumlin, Texas A&M University*
Region 3: Brian Kelly, University of Notre Dame
Region 4: Bill Snyder, Kansas State University
Region 5: Mike Riley, Oregon State University

Football Championship Subdivision
Region 1: Sean McDonnell, University of New Hampshire
Region 2: Brian Jenkins, Bethune-Cookman University & Chuck Priore, Stony Brook University (tie)
Region 3: Dino Babers, Eastern Illinois University
Region 4: Trent Miles, Indiana State University
Region 5: Rob Ash, Montana State University & Willie Fritz, Sam Houston State University* (tie)

Division II
Region 1: Mark Maciejewski, Shippensburg University
Region 2: Connell Maynor, Winston-Salem State University
Region 3: Lee Owens, Ashland University
Region 4: Don Carthel, West Texas A&M University
Region 5: Aaron Keen, Minnesota State University-Mankato

Division III
Region 1: Mike Cragg, Hobart College
Region 2: Tom Watts, Ohio Wesleyan University
Region 3: Pete Fredenburg, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor
Region 4: Larry Kehres, University of Mount Union*
Region 5: Patrick Cerroni, University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh

Region 1: Bill Cronin, Georgetown College (Ky.)*
Region 2: Ted Karras, Jr., Marian University*
Region 3: Paul Troth, Missouri Valley College
Region 4: Steve Ryan, Morningside College*
Region 5: Chuck Morrell, Montana Tech
*-2011 winner

Winston-Salem State Sports Information Dept.

Most Watched Videos