Family Of Late Colonel Ernest C. Holland Awarded Medals By Senator Richard Burr

5:48 PM, Feb 19, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

Winston-Salem, NC -- Senator Richard Burr spent Tuesday attending various events in the Triad.

First, he went to a news conference where UnitedHealthcare gave a major job announcement in Greensboro. Then he stopped by WFMY News 2 for a one on one interview with Tanya Rivera.

Neither of those events are likely to have engaged his emotions like the event he attended later in the afternoon in his home town of Winston-Salem.

The Senator bestowed medals to the family of the late Colonel Ernest C. Holland. Burr presented the awards to Colonel Holland's daughter, Bethanie Gauntt. The ceremony was held in the senator's office in Winston Salem.

According to a news release from Burr's Office, Holland served in the US Air Force. His last Duty Assignment and Major Command was listed as Headquarters Tactical Air Command.

Holland's years of service spanned January 7, 1944 - May 31, 1973. During that time, he served in World War II, Korea and Vietnam.

Medals Presented Posthumously for Colonel Ernest Holland:

Legion of Merit - For exceptionally meritorious conduct in the performance of outstanding services and achievements. The decoration is issued both to United States military personnel and to military and political figures of foreign governments.

Distinguished Flying Cross - For distinguished actions in support of operations by heroism or extraordinary achievement while participating in an aerial flight.

Bronze Star Medal - For acts of heroism, acts of merit, or meritorious service in a combat zone.

Air Medal w/ two Silver and one Bronze Oak Leaf Cluster - The medal was created in 1942 and is awarded for meritorious achievement while participating in aerial flight. Each Bronze Oak leaf cluster represents one additional award, while a Silver Oak leaf cluster is worn in lieu of five Bronze Oak Leaf Clusters.

Air Force Commendation Medal w/ One Bronze Oak Leaf Cluster - For valorous actions in direct contact with an enemy force, but of a lesser degree than required for the award of the Bronze Star Medal. The Bronze Oak leaf cluster represents one additional award.

Good Conduct - Awarded for exemplary behavior, efficiency and fidelity while on active duty.

Air Force Outstanding Unit Award - Created in 1954 and is awarded any unit of the US Air Force which performs exceptionally meritorious service, accomplishes specific acts of outstanding achievement, excels in combat operations against an armed enemy of the US, or conducts with distinct military operations involving conflict with, or exposure to, a hostile action by any opposing foreign force.

American Campaign Medal - For recognition for service members who performed duty in the American Theater of Operations during World War II.

European-African-Middle Eastern Campaign Medal w/ four Bronze Service Stars - For recognition of military service members who performed military duty in the European Theater (to include North Africa and the Middle East) during the years of World War II. The bronze service star is worn to denote one instance of an award or service period.

World War II Victory Medal - For military service during World War II. The medal was awarded to any member of the United States military who served on active duty, or as a reservist, between December 7, 1941 and December 31, 1946.

Army of Occupation Medal: Germany and Japan clasps - For recognition of those who performed occupation service in Germany and Japan.

National Defense Service Medal w/ one Bronze Service Star - Awarded to any member of the United States Armed Forces who served honorably during a designated time period of which a "national emergency" had been declared. The bronze service star is worn to denote one instance of an award or service period.

Korean Service Medal - For participation in the Korean War and is awarded to any U.S. service member, who performed duty in the Republic of Korea, between June 27, 1950 and July 27, 1954.

Vietnam Service Medal w/ one Silver Service Star - This medal is issued to recognize military service during the Vietnam War. A silver service star is worn in lieu of five bronze service stars.

Korean Defense Service Medal - Authorized for those members of the United States Armed Forces who have served duty in South Korea after the signing of the Korean Armistice Agreement in support of the defense of the Republic of Korea. To qualify for the medal, a service member must have served at least thirty consecutive days in the Korean theater.

Armed Forces Reserve Medal - The medal recognizes service performed by members of the reserve components.

Air Force Longevity Service Award with one Silver Oak Leaf Cluster - The Air Force Longevity Service Award is awarded for completing four years of Active or Reserve service. A Silver Oak leaf cluster is worn in lieu of five Bronze Oak Leaf Clusters.

Small Arms Expert Marksmanship Ribbon - For an expert qualification on the M-16 rifle, M-4 carbine or the individuals AFSC's (duty) designated handgun weapon.

United Nations Service Medal - Awarded to any military service member, of an Armed Force allied with South Korea, who participated in the defense of South Korea from North Korea between the dates of June 27, 1950 and July 27, 1954.

Vietnam Campaign Medal - Awarded to members of United States Armed Forces for serving six months or more in support of Republic of Vietnam military operations.

Republic of Vietnam Gallantry Cross w/ Palm - A military decoration of the former Government of South Vietnam (Republic of Vietnam). The medal was established on August 15, 1950. The decoration was awarded to military personnel, civilians, and Armed Forces units and organizations in recognition of deeds of valor or heroic conduct while in combat with the enemy. Recipients were cited at the Armed Forces, Corps, Division, Brigade or Regiment level. The Gallantry Cross was modeled after the French Croix de Guerre (Cross of War) medal. The Palm is cited at the Armed Forces level.

Korean War Service Medal - The medal was first authorized to South Korean troops who had participated in the initial counter-assaults against North Korean aggression in June 1950. In 1951, President Syngman Rhee ordered that the Incident Participation Medal be renamed as the War Service Medal and further authorized the decoration to any troops who were defending South Korea against invasion. In 1954, the South Korean government authorized the now called Korean War Service Medal to all United Nations troops who had fought in the Korean War between the dates of June 25, 1950 to July 27, 1953.

Most Watched Videos