Smith Alum & UNC TE Eric Ebron Named Mackey Award Semifinalist

12:32 PM, Nov 18, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

Written By The Friends of John Mackey

New York, N.Y. (November 18, 2013) - The Friends of John Mackey has announced eight semifinalistsfor the 2013 John Mackey Award.

Listed alphabetically, they are Jace Amaro (JR, TexasTech), Ted Bolser (SR, Indiana), Eric Ebron (JR, North Carolina), Devin Funchess (SO,Michigan), Gator Hoskins (SR, Marshall), Troy Niklas (JR, Notre Dame), Nick O'Leary (JR,Florida State) and Austin Seferian-Jenkins (JR, Washington).

The eight semi-finalists were determined by confidential balloting of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee.

Given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the 2013 John Mackey Award recipient will be announced on December 11, 2013 and presented live on December 12, 2013 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show: 6:00 p.m. ET on ESPNU.

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position.

A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

All-Time John Mackey Award Recipients



2000 - Tim Stratton, Purdue


2001 - Dan Graham, Colorado

2002 - Dallas Clark, Iowa

2003 - Kellen Winslow II, Miami (FL)

2004 - Heath Miller, Virginia

2005 - Marcedes Lewis, UCLA

2006 - Matt Spaeth, Minnesota

2007 - Fred Davis, USC

2008 - Chase Coffman, Missouri

2009 - Aaron Hernandez, Florida

2010 - D.J. Williams, Arkansas

2011 - Dwayne Allen, Clemson

2012 - Tyler Eifert, Notre Dame






John Mackey Award

Most Watched Videos