The Open Championship Features 16 ACC Golfers

GREENSBORO, N.C. – The field that begins play Thursday at The 143rd Open Championship will include 16 golfers from current ACC schools, the most of any conference in the country.

Seven league programs are represented at Royal Liverpool Golf Club, and four have multiple former players. The field includes Clemson's Ben Martin and Michael Hoey; Duke's Kevin Streelman; Florida State's Jonas Blixt, George McNeill, and Brooks Koepka; Georgia Tech's David Duval, Cameron Tringale, Stewart Cink, Matt Kuchar, Roberto Castro, and Chesson Hadley; NC State's Justin Walters; Virginia Tech's Brendon de Jonge; and Wake Forest's Bill Haas and Webb Simpson.

Four golfers from ACC schools have won The Open Championship seven times. Georgia Tech's Bobby Jones won three Opens, followed by Wake Forest's Arnold Palmer with two and Georgia Tech's Duval and Cink with one victory apiece. The seven combined wins are the second most from any conference.

Five former ACC golfers in this week's Open – No. 5 Kuchar, No. 29 Simpson, No. 37 Haas, No. 39 Streelman, and No. 42 Blixt – are ranked in the top 50 in the world.

Play gets underway Thursday morning in Hoylake, England, at the Royal Liverpool Golf Club.

Golfers from ACC Schools at the 2014 British Open
Ben Martin, Clemson
Michael Hoey, Clemson
Kevin Streelman, Duke
Jonas Blixt, Florida State
George McNeill, Florida State
Brooks Koepka, Florida State
David Duval, Georgia Tech
Cameron Tringale, Georgia Tech
Stewart Cink, Georgia Tech
Matt Kuchar, Georgia Tech
Roberto Castro, Georgia Tech
Chesson Hadley, Georgia Tech
Justin Walters, NC State
Brendon de Jonge, Virginia Tech
Bill Haas, Wake Forest
Webb Simpson, Wake Forest


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment