GREENSBORO, N.C. -- The Guilford County Sheriff's Office honored several deputies and officers Tuesday at its annual awards presentation.

The following members received awards:

  • Deputy of the year: Deputy C. L. Collins
  • Rookie deputy of the year: Deputy E. R. Gordon
  • Detention officer of the year: Jonathan Tufo
  • Rookie detention officer: Officer C. L. Smith (Officer Smith recently died from a terminal illness. The department gave the award to Officer Smith's family)
  • Life saving awards: Deputy M. H. Farmer, Deputy Corporal E. B. Moore
  • Meritorious service award: Deputy C. L. Collins, Deputy Corporal D. T. Cooke, Deputy Sergeant D. M. Inman and Deputy Master Corporal L. G. Stump
  • Commendation bar: Detective Corporal J. M. Lowes, Detective Corporal M. C. Nance and Detetive Corporal B. T. Williams.