Gov. McCrory Declares State Of Emergency For 33 Counties

RALEIGH, N.C. -- Gov. Pat McCrory has declared a state of emergency for 33 counties in eastern North Carolina as Hurricane Hermine advances toward the state.

Read: Hermine Strengthens To Hurricane, On Track To Impact NC By Friday

McCrory issued the declaration Thursday after meeting with state emergency personnel to discuss storm preparations, as well as equipment or staffing support needs.

The emergency declaration helps facilitate the movement of resources needed to respond to and recover from the storm. The governor also issued an executive order that waives certain truck restrictions on weight and hours of service in order to facilitate quicker storm response.

Read: Chad & Ben On The Hunt For Hermine Along NC Coast

Public Safety Secretary Frank Perry said National Guard soldiers, Highway Patrol troopers and Department of Transportation crews have been mobilized across the state.

The storm is expected to bring heavy rains, gusty winds and flooding to the state beginning Friday night.

The State of Emergency is for the following counties: Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Gates, Greene, Hertford, Hoke, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Pitt, Robeson, Sampson, Tyrrell, Washington, and Wayne. 




During the next three days, the Sandhills, Triangle and Rocky Mount areas could see 1-3 inches of rain, while the I-95 corridor may get 4 to 6 inches and coastal plain counties could see 4 to 8 inches of precipitation. 

NC Disaster Declaration


Copyright 2016 WFMY


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment