x

Greensboro's Leading Local News: Weather, Traffic, Sports and more | Greensboro, North Carolina | WFMYNEWS2.com

NC DMV extends driver license and vehicle registration deadlines

There is a one-time extension of 5 months.

GREENSBORO, N.C. — Your NC driver license is expired? What about your vehicle registration? You’re not alone which is why state lawmakers are allowing for a one-time extension without fine or fees.

Check NC DMV for ALL the items included in the 5-month extension.

If your license or your vehicle registration expires anytime between March 1, 2020, to August 1, 2020, you have a 5-month extension to get it renewed. But once you go over that 5-month period, all fees and fines can be billed to you.

RELATED: Deadline Wednesday: Get your stimulus payment quicker through direct deposit

RELATED: Gas prices rise as states reopen

Here’s an example of the 5-month extension: If your registration deadline was March 31st then your new due date is August 31st.

Credit: WFMY

What if you already got fined and paid a $15 late renewal fee? The DMV will be reimbursing you.

RELATED: A new bill would change several North Carolina laws to help the COVID-19 response

Getting an appointment may take some time. Some DMV offices are closed. Before visiting an office, you should check the DMV site.

Road Skills Tests are still a requirement for those seeking a limited provisional license, or a first-time driver license. Road tests are not being offered until it is determined it is safe to do so.