Breaking News
More () »

Greensboro's Leading Local News: Weather, Traffic, Sports and more | Greensboro, North Carolina | WFMYNEWS2.com

Stimulus money for NC parents: Do you need to apply? When could you expect your $335?

According to CBS affiliate WNCN, eligible recipients must have been a North Carolina resident for all of 2019.

Editor's note: The above video is from a previous story.

Political leaders in North Carolina released information Monday on how parents can make sure they get their stimulus money included in a COVID-19 relief bill signed into law by Gov. Roy Cooper early September, according to CBS affiliate WNCN.

WNCN reported according to the bill, eligible recipients must have been a resident of North Carolina for all of 2019. The station reported they also must have reported at least one child on their state tax form who is 16 years old or younger.

RELATED: Coronavirus money update: Stimulus checks round 2, unemployment benefits, $900 next week

The CBS affiliate reported taxpayers who reported at least one qualifying child on their 2019 state individual tax income return will receive the payment automatically, per a news release from Rep. John Bell (R) read.

WNCN reported some residents who weren’t required to file a return are still eligible. The station said they must apply through the North Carolina Department of Revenue, and the deadline to apply is Oct. 15, also per the release.

RELATED: Millions in danger of missing coronavirus stimulus payments, watchdog warns

The station reported each qualifying family with a household income between $50,000 and $500,000 will receive a one-time direct payment of $335. WNCN said the department of revenue will issue payments no later than Dec. 15. Payment details will be posted on the NCDOR website as soon as they’re available, the release said.

The $1 billion relief package also included, among other items, an extra $50 in unemployment benefits through the end of the year.

RELATED: Gov. Cooper signs $1 billion COVID-19 relief bill, including stimulus payments for parents


Remember facts, not fear when talking about the coronavirus. You should take the safety measures recommended by health leaders to prevent the spread of COVID-19. Abide by the three W's. That means wearing a mask, washing your hands, and waiting at least six feet from another person. You also want to avoid touching your face and make sure to cover coughs and sneezes with a tissue and throw it away.


It is important to make sure the information you are getting about the coronavirus is coming directly from reliable sources like the CDC and NCDHHS. Be careful not to spread misinformation about coronavirus on social media. 

For more information visit the CDC OR NCDHHS


The state also has a special hotline set up where you can call 866-462-3821 for more information on the coronavirus. You can also submit questions online at ncpoisoncontrol.org or select chat to talk with someone about the virus.

You can also text keyword VIRUS to WFMY News 2 at 336-379-5775 for the latest.

Stay connected to local, national, and breaking news: Download the WFMY News 2 app. 

Text the word APP to 336-379-5775