GREENSBORO, N.C.-- Fireworks will be on full display this Independence Day. But before you set some off in your neighborhood you should check if they're legal.
North Carolina has some of the toughest restrictions on fireworks in the country.
A fire investigator with the Greensboro Fire Department says that's because safety is priority number one.
"We prefer you don't use consumer fireworks at your home we want you to go to professional shoots," Capt. Naomi Dixon said.
If you do shoot off fireworks Dixon says be safe and only use what's legal.
Anything that explodes and leaves the ground is illegal and could cost you up to $500 in fines, if you're caught.
- Ground Spinners
- Roman Candles
- Bottle Rockets
- Snake and Glow Worms
- Smoke Devices
Sparklers are legal in North Carolina but can be dangerous. Sparklers burn anywhere from 1,800 to 3,000 degrees Fahrenheit.
"If you think about your oven, you don't want your kids playing around your oven and it maxes out at about 500 degrees. So if you take that into consideration, the sparklers get way hotter than that and they are just a few inches away from their fingers." Capt. Dixon said.
Fireworks should always be supervised by an adult and young children should never ignite them.
Capt. Dixon says about 11,000 people get hurt every year from fireworks, 30 percent are children.
Be respectful of when you set fireworks off. Most cities and counties have noise ordinances that can be interpreted to include fireworks, but it's a case by case basis.
Statewide, there is a bill in the works that would allow fireworks from 10 a.m. to 10 p.m. on the average day and midnight on July 4th, but that has yet to pass.